A Dying Breed

It’s the Hardest Thing You’ll Ever Do

There is a reason a lot of people don’t like to run, especially when it comes to distance running; It’s hard! No amount of skill can help you when it comes to running. The only way to get better is to sweat and suffer through lots and lots of training.

I’m probably losing you, aren’t I?

As hard as this is to believe, a lot of people think running is, well, fun. I know, crazy right? I happen to be one of those insane people and I am proud of it! Honest! I ENJOY running! Hear me out though, beacause I have a few good reasons:

Reason #1: The Individuality

How many people do you know that willingly admit that they love running? Or do it willingly? Not a whole lot I’m guessing. Any one can play baseball or volleyball, especially if they have natural skill. In my opinion, real athletes are the ones who run. There aren’t a whole lot of us, but gosh darn it, we are proud! And although we are a team(for those of us on Cross Country or Track) you  are in full control of your performance. We are individuals, but work for a team purpose.

Reason #2: The Reward

I can honestly say that the best feeling in the world is the one you get after a hard, long run. I recently ran a 5k Cross Country race with my High School team. (Boys always run the 5k, which is 3.1 miles, while girls usually run the 4k, or 2.5 miles) The race was excruciating while I was running it and I wanted nothing more but to be done as fast as possible. Two things happened that made me extremely happy. The first, I was done with the race! There is no greater relief than finishing a race. I actually laughed with a fellow competitor saying, “That wasn’t so bad. Wanna go again?” The second was that I broke my personal record for running a 5k. My previous record of 25:00 has now become a 23:02. I was very proud of myself. I wish everyone could experience this feeling!

Reason #3: All Around Workout

Not too many people know that running doesn’t only target the muscles in your legs. Running gives you an almost full-body workout! While training, runners need to focus on their core, their arms and their legs in order to see any running results. I firmly believe that runners are in better shape than almost any other athlete. We are, in my opinion, the most fit people in the world.

I try to recruit a lot of people to run, but most just laugh at me. The lucky few will realize the good in running and join us in our run. I hope you will too. Blog ya later!

9 responses

  1. boy this is a great blog you better post every day so i can read it wow just wow

    September 22, 2011 at 2:47 pm

  2. First off I absolutely love your blog. That reason being that I am also one of those insane people that loves running! There is no better feeling than running. There is nothing in the world that could ever compare to the feeling of running. Whether in a race or just for fun, running is the absolute ultimate!

    September 22, 2011 at 2:47 pm

  3. i think this is going to be a great blog, esspecially because I am one of the insane people that loves running too, and secondly because I’ve been in cross country with you since we started in sixth grade, and now it is already our senior year

    September 22, 2011 at 3:13 pm

  4. when are you gunna post again

    September 22, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    • I am trying to post right now chuck, it takes time! why don’t you work on your own blog in the mean time? 😛

      September 22, 2011 at 3:27 pm

  5. Dan

    This proves that no matter what hard work and dedication do pay off

    September 22, 2011 at 3:37 pm

  6. you better dedicate part of your blog to D-Dog

    September 22, 2011 at 3:40 pm

  7. Your blog is really good! I don’t really like running, but you almost persuaded me to give it a chance. 🙂

    September 23, 2011 at 3:20 pm

  8. devin

    Run for fun??!

    October 31, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Leave a Reply

