A Dying Breed

Just Run It Off…

STRESS.

That is the topic for today. Only God knows how popular of a subject this must be, because I personally complain about it every single day. And why not talk about it? Everyone experiences stress on some scale. Stressing about end-of-the-term finals, people at your work or even just your outfit for the day. There’s no avoiding it, so the best we can do is (1) tuck our tails between our legs and surrender or (2) lift our heads high and face it. I chose the latter.

Okay, I’m going to go on a very personal level right now.  I recently broke up with someone who I love and have been in a relationship with for almost 10 months(recently as in this morning). We have been friends for years and he is probably the closest friend I have ever had and the best relationship I have had thus far in my life. There a lot of reasons why this all happened and honestly, I do not feel like divulging this information. Just know that this has cut me extremely deep and I’m having a hard time coping. Between crying and venting my feelings to friends, I feel hollow and empty inside. It’s only 10:30AM and the day has been a blur so far. I am kind of hoping that blogging about it will help me feel better, although I am having little success right now. So in hopes that I can use this….unfortunate turn of events as a learning experience, I would like to discuss how I usually cope with my stress; Running.

I know a lot of people who run when they are trying to deal with stress. In my opinion I believe it is very effective and has done wonders to calm my nerves. I will admit to having a few midnight runs in the past, which is very dangerous, but was probably one of the hardest runs I have ever had. Afterwards, I always feel better, even if only a little bit. The endorphins released into my system put me in a better mood and help me through my struggles. I would highly recommend this as a remedy to any kind of stress.

Nevertheless, I am not very knowledgable when it comes to stress so I would recommend checking out my friend’s blog about stress: http://jessica-dealingwithstress.blogspot.com/ I hope this blog helps you with any stress, she is a very smart girl.

I won’t be able to run today since Wednesdays are pool days for my XC team, but I’m hoping I’ll be able to blow off some steam tomorrow since we may possibly have a CC meet.

Have a good day everyone…

Leave a Reply

