A Dying Breed

Got Inspiration?

As a runner, I sometimes forget that not everyone has the same love for running as I do. A lot of people have to force themselves to run for their own health/fitness. There’s a saying that my XC team loves to use;

“Our sport is your sport’s punishment.”

This is in fact true. In almost every other sport, the most dreaded part of practice/training is running. No one WANTS to run(unless you are a runner, of course), they are forced to. I just have one question; WHY DOES NO ONE LIKE RUNNING?

Personally, I love to run, but you already knew that, didn’t you? I have an internal desire to run, a driving force that pushes my legs to keep moving. My inspiration comes from within me. Many people aren’t as fortunate as me, so I feel it is my duty to lend a helping hand.

For your reading entertainment, I would like to supply you with a list of inspirational…things that will get you “pumped” for a great run!

  • Hardcore music
  • Awesome running attire
  • Have something to run for

Only one topic for today, so I will start with the first bullet:

Hardcore music: Ok, it doesn’t have to be screamo music or anything like that, but it does have to be music that really gets your blood pumpinng. Usually music with a fast tempo will get the ball rolling. Be aware that your exercise music may be totally different from your every-day music. My sister, for example, only listens to rock music when she is working out. Outside of the weightroom, she is strictly pop music.

I know that everyone has different tastes in music, but I would like to give a suggestion to your music selection. My favorite band is, without a doubt, Skillet. They reach me on a deep emotional level and their music is the best I have ever heard. Skillet has helped me through more than a few hard times and I don’t know where I would be without them.

One of my favorite songs of theirs is Monster. I believe everyone feels like this at one point or another and it really gets me going. Enjoy! (Check out all the running in this video!)

Leave a Reply

