A Dying Breed

I <3 Twitter!

The title is little bit of a dead give-away to what this post will be about, don’t you think? I’ve never been known for my subtlety. What’s the point if no one gets it but you?

Also, I am apologizing in advance for the lengthiness of this post, but I hope you will stick with it until the end. Please and thank-you!

ANYWAYS… 

I know there are a lot of haters out there who don’t like Twitter, but most of those haters have never even tried Twitter! And as our parents have always told us, you can’t hate something if you have never tried it(That’s how my parents got me to eat Brussel sprouts, and now I love them!). So, to all of the haters reading this; Shut your mouth and open the web browser! Go to Twitter and get signed up, then follow me at @AlexRunner27 or press the follow button under my “Tweet! Tweet!” column on the right side of this page. Cute, huh? Widgets can do such amazing things!

While on Twitter, I have come across some pretty awesome people! Some are hilarious, others are extremely truthful and a few are a little of both.  I could go on all day about all the great people on Twitter, but I REALLY doubt you want to read all that! So I have chosen 5 accounts that I feel are a must to follow. Not only are these people runners, but they are also bloggers! Yes, I have finally found my kin! Granted, they are a million times more successful and insightful than I, but I’ll get there eventually…I hope.

So here’s my fabulous five and why you better follow them;

So first and foremost, @ultrarunnergirl. She was one of the first people I followed and also one of the first to follow me back! (Thanks @ultrarunnergirl, big boost for me!) I can honestly say that her blog is my favorite. She has so much insight and good advice, there’s almost too much to take in! Not only is she honest, but extremely inspirational. She makes me want to run, run and never stop! Please check it out, it’s really good. Thank you @ultrarunnergirl for being an amazing role model for my running and my blogging!

Next up is @RunEricRun. What first grabbed my attention was his Twitter picture; covered in mud and a huge smile on his face. He reminded me that running is FUN! This fact tends to escape a lot of runners, including me. His enthusiasm is contagious and spontaneous, an attitude my running life has been missing. He was also very nice and commented on myblog, which I was not expecting, but was very much appreciated(It made me feel like a real blogger, like the people I follow, so thank you!). Kudos @RunEricRun! Keep up that spirit!

This next person is very unique and I feel blessed to have found her, blog/Twitter. This one’s to you @sprintingsalina! Her story is one of struggles and triumph as a victim of asthma. She made the life-altering decision to stop nurturing the asthma and fight back; she became a runner. No one thought she could do it, but she knew it was what she had to do and she’s still going strong! I have exercise-enduced asthma and only started using an inhaler this year. My asthma is not nearly as severe as hers, but I can relate to the helpless feeling of being breathless.You’re my hero @sprintingsalina! Stay strong!

The story of @Coupleontherun is truly special. Their motto “Go further together” could not be more true for this couple. It absolutely melts my heart to see this couple unite in running and enjoy something together. Want to know how they got the name “couple on the run?” They ran 8 marathons in 8 countries in 8 weeks, side by side the whole time. If that doesn’t say love, I don’t know what does. Truly memorable, so go check them out!

Certainly not least, but last on my list is @JenZenator. The reason I love her Twitter/blog is simple; she makes me laugh!  She isn’t running obsessed or training for insane amounts of time, but she’s being a regular person who has the urge to run and acts on it, a remarkable feat for anyone! She is random and hilarious and her blog so cute! It can also be serious at times and address problems I know that a lot of runners face and is supportive because she’s gone through it too. Great blog, great runner, great person!

It’s been a long post, but thanks for reading! These people deserve a lot better representation than I can deliver, so check them out for yourself! I guarantee that you will not regret it! Who knows, you might even get hooked on running and blogging, just like us!

Blog ya later!

3 responses

  1. Thank you so much. Sharing is caring! The more people we can encourage and inspire to be runners the better the world will get. Anyone can feel the joy of running if they just try! Thanks for connecting me to some other bloggers too! Breathe easy and keep running!

    October 21, 2011 at 1:49 pm

  2. Thank you for the shout out! I am humbled. So glad you enjoy my blog. And I’m excited to have now discovered yours! Love your spirit. Keep up the great work here!

    October 25, 2011 at 2:29 pm

  3. This is a fun post indeed!! I agree with SprintingSalina!!! The running community is great, and we can keep it that way!!!

    October 25, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

