A Dying Breed

So Much to Do, So Little Time

I am sad to report that I am officially in the off-season. So, yesterday, I began planning my off-season training! I am very excited despite the funny looks I have received from fellow classmates, especially @sam13ripp(He’s a fellow classmate in my internet publishing class and a member of the Cross Country team, so go look him up!).

I know that taking good care of yourself is essential for any athlete and also for simply living a healthy lifestyle. Keeping this in mind, I would like to share my plans with you, my beloved readers. I will show you my inspirations, my meal plans and my workout regimen. These three things are extremely important when trying to get into shape, but not the only things.

There is one thing that I always have an extremely hard time doing, but is a huge part of good health;

I can’t get enough sleep!

This is one of the biggest reasons people get sick so often, get so stressed or never seem to have enough energy. I am guilty of this in the worst degree. High school students are under a lot of stress, believe it or not. Especially the senior year; AP courses, college applications, sports, activities, part-time jobs, we’re a mess! Sleep can take the edge off…if you can get enough of it.

So that is part one of this health-kick series. I’ll be back with more tomorrow. Blog ya later!

One response

  1. It’s good to take a break. Scott Jurek takes something like 2 whole months off running, so it must work! What kind of cross training do you do in your off-season? I absolutely love snowshoeing, when I can get to good snow. There’s not much in DC usually.

    Sleep is SO key. I’ve run several races that I did not feel ready for and did well because I was able to get good sleep the whole week beforehand. Get it when you can!

    October 25, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Leave a Reply

