A Dying Breed

Have You Seen These Shoes?

You’ve probably heard about the minimalist running craze that spiked in the last couple of years. If you have not, let me fill you in. Minimalism is running in the least amount of shoe you can manage in order to strengthen the muscles, tendons and ligaments of the foot, improve your balance, feel more grounded and even teach your body to run properly. Although some people protest this method stating that it is counter-productive to the running process, this movement has caught fire in and outside the running world.

I know a few people who own the popular Vibram Five Finger shoes and I have only heard positive comments about them. They say that the finger shoes are comfortable and versatile for any activity. Even in Cross Country and Track, I have had many people tell me how great this shoe feels and that they enjoy wearing them for races. Many have even made the comment that it’s like a “second skin” for their feet.

According to their website, the Vibram KSO is the most popular five-finger shoe they sell. If you are looking for a shoe that improves your natural running stride the most, that would be the Vibram Bikila. You can check out their website for sizes and categories.

BE AWARE OF FRAUDS! The Vibram Five Finger shoe has become a much sought after design and some people have began imitating it and slapping Vibram’s logo on it. Do your research! Don’t encourage them!

“Like barefoot only better.” Have you ever heard that saying before? Well you have if you have seen the New Balance Minimus commercials for their light minimalist shoes. The Minimus design comes in styles for cross training, trails, roads and for everyday life. I don’t know anyone with these shoes yet but I read that they are very versatile.

There are many other minimalist shoe companies such as Merrell, Nike and Saucony to name a few. This minimalist movement is more than just a fad, this is a new generation in running!

I am thinking about buying a pair of minimalist shoes, but I don’t know what kind I would wear or if I would like them. If any of you own a pair of minimalist shoes, I would love to hear your comments!

Blog ya later!

2 responses

  1. Hey Alex! I feel like a creep posting on your blog xD
    nvm, other people of the internet are scratching their heads …

    I have tried on a pair of Vibram Five Finger shoes. All I can say is you have to try them to see if their right for you. I had thought my feet could get used to little or no cushion in my shoes, but just by jumping around in Scheels I could tell that constant pounding would hurt for my longer runs.

    I ended up purchased a pair of Saucony Kinvara 2. I’ve been very happy w/ a pair of Saucony’s I’ve had in the past & I was pleased w/ the same level of comfort in the Kinvaras. They are SUPER light & fight like a sock, but w/ the comfort of a shoe that the Vibram Five Finger didn’t.

    HOWEVER … the sole is made of a foam-ish material. Already now (after about 5 months) the bottom is wearing down pretty substantially ): ALWAYS make sure to check & feel your sole to see if it is made to last. & as a poor college student, I need lasting shoes (:
    I love Saucony, but the Kinvaras just won’t last for the running I put them through.

    Happy shoe shopping!

    November 3, 2011 at 10:21 pm

  2. I wear all minimal shoes. Started on the nike free. Then the Kinvara. I now use the NeW Balance mt101 and the fila skeletoes….. I love all those choices, and suggest them, but make the switch slowly if you ever do.

    November 4, 2011 at 12:49 am

Leave a Reply

